Feedback for efficiency of Sparse Matrix operations

This is my first time working with SparseArrays in Julia. I needed a few operations and was wondering if I am as efficient as I can be. I do want to preserve the original matrices (explicitly not doing anything in-place).

First I want to remove all diagonal values. Do I need deepcopy here or would copy suffice?

function dropdiag(M)
    M_out = deepcopy(M)
    SparseArrays.fkeep!(M_out, (i,j,v) -> i != j)
    return M_out
end

Second, I want to make the matrix row stochastic (sum to 1 in each row). Is sum efficient for sparse matrices?

function rowstochastic(M)
    rowsums = sum(M; dims = 2)
    M_out = similar(M, Float64)
    rowindex = rowvals(M)
    values = nonzeros(M)
    m, n = size(M)
    @inbounds for j in 1:n
        for i in nzrange(M, j)
            M_out[rowindex[i], j] = values[i] / rowsums[rowindex[i]]
        end
    end
    return M_out
end

Finally, I want to transform each value using the same function:

function spmap(f, M)
    M_out = similar(M)
    rowindex = rowvals(M)
    values = nonzeros(M)
    m, n = size(M)
    @inbounds for j in 1:n
        for i in nzrange(M, j)
            M_out[rowindex[i], j] = f(values[i])
        end
    end
    return M_out
end

Any feedback is much appreciated!

copy suffices. (I don’t recall ever needing deepcopy in all my years of using Julia.)

You could just multiply by a vector of 1’s to sum each row; I don’t know about sum along particular dimensions, but matrix–vector multiplication is certainly well optimized. The code is a lot shorter, too, and works for any linear operator:

rowstochastic(M) = Diagonal(M * ones(eltype(M), size(M,2))) \ M

f.(M) works, as long as f preserves zeros.

3 Likes