Feasibility of using Julia to create a DLL connected to Java

I’m researching which language is best to create a physics engine and would like to use Julia. The requirements are simply that I must be able to produce a DLL which can pass custom data types to/from a front end, written in Java, on a windows machine. I’d like to use Julia to show it’s feasible for future development, but am concerned about the complexity of integrating a Julia DLL with Java.

I use Julia for prototyping, but this is my first attempt trying to use it in a production setting. Any advice on the following would be incredibly helpful:

1. Is integrating Julia into mixed-language projects (e.g. Java) feasible?
  2. Are there any specific pros/cons to using Julia in this type of application?

P.s. this is my first post, so please let me know if it would be more appropriate in another category. Thank you!

How much data must be exchanged per call? Which call latency is acceptable?

The front end will pass 10-15 doubles/floats to the engine. The engine will pass back 100-200 x/y coordinates as doubles/floats. The call latency isn’t as much of a concern to me as speeding up the thousands of Monte Carlo simulations. The alternative languages are Python or C#, which seem to perform those simulations much more slowly.

Compiling Julia is possible, and you end with a DLL, it’s not going to be small, but I question why you need that, and I think you will not get just one DLL with PackageCompiler.jl. Also it you think compiling to DLL or anything is needed for speed then that’s not true basically, and since this is a physics engine, it seem like soft-realtime, and that has special requirements, I’ll address lalter.

Certainly. Look at e.g. the PythonCall.jl project. It’s by-directional, i.e. ses it’s [py]juliacall.