Fast Multi-Threaded Array Editing without data races?

Hi, I am fairly new to multi-threading in Juila and am having trouble finding the best procedure to avoid data races in an a section of code I am writing.

The code uses a monte carlo method to generate values that are then assigned to specific locations in a large 6D array based on some conditions and a second array is used to keep a tally of sampled points. Something like (I cannot share the actual code):

lk = ReentrantLock()
Threads.@threads :static for iThreads in 1:nThreads
 generatevalues!(val,somedata)
(loc1,loc2,loc3,loc4,loc5,loc6,somedata)=generatelocations(somedata)
 #update arrays
 begin
  lock(lk)
 try
  if (1<=loc1<=num1)
   ArrayofValues[loc1+2,loc2,loc3,loc4,loc5,loc6] += val
  elseif (loc1 > num1)
   ArrayofValues[2,loc2,loc3,loc4,loc5,loc6] += val
  else (loc1 < num1)
   ArrayofValues[1,loc2,loc3,loc4,loc5,loc6] += val
  end
   @view(ArrayofTallys[:,loc2,loc3,loc4,loc5,loc6] .+= 1
 finally
  unlock(lk)
 end
end

These arrays are large but in general so the likelihood of two threads editing the same elements of the arrays at the same time is low but non-zero, hence the use of the lock. However this tends to makes the code slower than the serial version. Is there an efficient way to edit small sections/views of arrays without needing to lock the whole thing? Or is there a better approach that I should attempt to take?

edits: square brackets for array indexing.

1 Like

Welcome! None of this looks like it would work. Julia indexes with square brackets (not parens), and it looks like you’re using the locs and val as both containers and scalars in a confusing manner.

Get the serial version working first, and then work towards multithreading if you need it (profile!).

1 Like

OhMyThreads.jl has quite a few very useful tools for multithreaded applications

2 Likes

I have edited the original post to include the square brackets that are in the actual code.