Fast Exponential of a large matrix

I have to perform the exponential of a matrix. I have compared the built-in exp function to the exponential! function from the ExponentialUtilites package. The latter is supposed to be much faster than the built-in function. However, I don’t see this!

A = randn(2^12, 2^12)
@time exp(im*A);

71.589389 seconds (2.02 M allocations: 1.880 GiB, 0.10% gc time, 2.65% compilation time)

A = randn(2^12, 2^12)
@time exponential!(im*A);

71.524002 seconds (3.93 M allocations: 1.741 GiB, 0.25% gc time, 5.79% compilation time)

Why is this so? And is there any other way to calculate the exponential of a large matrix efficiently, like using multi-threading?

1 Like

If you’re willing to sacrifice accuracy maybe an idea could be to truncate its series expansion: Matrix exponential - Wikipedia

Wait, can’t this be done without allocating?

I’m not an expert, but… if we just think about a taylor expansion:

x + x^2 + x^3 + x^4 times some coefficients.

This sum can be split into an accumulator where the final result will be stored and some chunk of memory were the calculation is being done. The calculation is you just keep multiplying by the same matrix and can be done iteratively: each step is multiplying some NxN matrix corresponding to the output of the previous step, times x which is also an NxN matrix. This has known size and can be allocated beforehand.

Alternatively, isn’t this the kind of thing that BLAS should be really good at doing? Why not just use that?

If you have a Hermitian A you should use cis(A) instead.

Do you need the whole matrix, or do you just need to multiply it by a vector? In the latter case there are faster possibilities.

3 Likes

Hi, @stevengj! Yes, the matrix is Hermitian. And yes, you are right; I just need to multiply exp(im*A) by a vector. Could you please tell me what other possibilities you are referring to? Thanks!