Extracting dense submatrix from sparse matrix

Hi, I’m new to GPU programming in general and julia-GPU in specific. So sorry if my question turns out to be naive.

I have a largish sparse matrix; given a sorted array of indices I need to extract the corresponding submatrix into a dense submatrix. I need to do this for a lot of submatrices (ranging from tiny to ~1000 x 1000; due to structure, the requested submatrices are all relatively dense-ish, even though the large sparse matrix is really sparse), and I care about throughput only, not latency (i.e. I can forsee which submatrices I will need when). On the way, it is helpful to do some minor elementwise computations, but I can also do elementwise computations afterwards. [*]

Horribly slow REPL example:

using Random, SparseArrays
a = sprand(100, 100, 0.1);
idxset=[1,5,7,8,9,10,11,75];
mat=Matrix(a[idxSet, idxSet]);

The large sparse matrix would fit into GPU memory. Values and indices are 32 bit. I am free with respect to memory layout (e.g. I currently use something like CSR, but with indices and values interspersed as struct matEntry idx::Int32 val::Int32 end). The matrix happens to be symmetric, if that helps.

Any pointers whether and how to accelerate this on GPU? To repeat, I am free to use any layout I want; and if there is some library like cuSparse that already has a similar functionality, I’m happy to read the relevant code and adapt it.

Unfortunately I could not find dense submatrix extraction in the cuSparse API docs, nor could I find something like this on google, so I either failed at RTFM or this is difficult, or it is a niche problem.