Extract relevant lines from large file using IDs from other file

Hi there,

I am new to Julia but interested to learn.

I would like to extract lines from a large file (32gb; File B) based on an ID (File A) that is stored in another file.

> FileA
ID01
ID02
ID03
IDXX
> FileB
ID05  information more_information  even_more_information  102
ID12  information more_information  even_more_information  115
ID89  information more_information  even_more_information  009

I wrote the following Julia script, but was a little disappointed by its performance. I guess that I am not familiar enough with the language to get this running fast enough:

# Read in query file

## Initiate empty vector
queries = Any[]

## Loop through file and populate vector with text
open("fileA") do query_file
        for ln in eachline(query_file)
                push!(queries, ln)
        end
end

# Loop through database file
open("FileB") do file
        ## Loop through lines
        for ln in eachline(file)
                # Extract ID with regex
                ID = match(r"^(\S)+", ln).match

# search in queries
                if ID in queries
                        println(ln)
                end
        end
end

Any ideas to make this run much faster in Julia?

The above script was inspired by this perl script:

open(IN, 'FileA');
while (<IN>) {
 chomp;
$i_need{$_}++;
}

open (IN, 'FileB') ;

while (<IN>) {
  /^(\S+)\t/;
 if ($i_need{$1}) { print; }
}

Many thanks!

There are a few things that stand out immediately:

1. You’re using non-constant global variables, which are particularly slow in Julia. Instead, put your actual code into a function and call it.
  2. Any[] is an abstractly-typed container, which will be slower than a container of a concrete type (like String).