Efficiently Loading and Processing Large Number of Images

Hello, I’m very new to Julia and as such am still familiarizing myself with its quirks. I’m working with a dataset from Kaggle containing 40,000 images that I would like to load in and process. The data can be found here: Surface Crack Detection | Kaggle

However, I’m unsure how to perform this task efficiently. The below code accomplishes two things:

1. Finds the path to all image files. (Not very interesting, but included for reproducibility.)
using Images
using ImageIO

#Assumes current directory contains both image-containing folders.
base_path = pwd()

#Finds all file names in given path
file_pos = readdir(base_path*"\\Positive\\")
file_neg = readdir(base_path*"\\Negative\\")

#Joins the paths with the file names
path_pos = base_path*"\\Positive\\".*file_pos
path_neg = base_path*"\\Negative\\".*file_neg

img_paths = [path_pos; path_neg]

and 2. Loads in each image and performs some very basic operations on it.

#Loads an image from a given path and performs some basic transformations to it.
function process_image(path)
    img = load(path)
    img = Gray.(img)
    img = imresize(img,(80,80))
    img = vec(img)
    img = convert(Array{Float64,1},img)
    return img
end

#Processes all images
processed_imgs =  process_image.(img_paths)

The below statistics were produced by a second run of the @time and @code_warntype commands.

394.428738 seconds (4.28 M allocations: 23.492 GiB, 5.85% gc time)
Variables
  #self#::Core.Const(var"##dotfunction#257#7"())
  x1::Vector{String}

Body::AbstractVector{var"#s831"} where var"#s831"
1 ─ %1 = Base.broadcasted(Main.process_image, x1)::Base.Broadcast.Broadcasted{Base.Broadcast.DefaultArrayStyle{1}, Nothing, typeof(process_image), Tuple{Vector{String}}}
│   %2 = Base.materialize(%1)::AbstractVector{var"#s831"} where var"#s831"