Efficient way to simulate large system of ODEs

Edit:

So the way I proposed doing it here does work, I just made a mistake that @Oscar_Smith pointed out, so using the functions this way is fine.

Original Q:

Hi there!

I’m still a bit new to Julia and trying to figure out the best way of using DifferentialEquations.jl to set up a large system of ODEs for simulation. I have a large system of equations (over 50) that represent biomass flux between containers and I’m looking for a way to define that system via a set of functions, because each container is technically defined by the same equation, just with different varying parameters.

As an example with only two containers, imagine a different system:

\frac{dX_1}{dt} = r_1X_1(1-\frac{X_1}{K_1}) + X_1(a_{12}X_2)(1-\frac{X_1}{K_1}) - X_1(a_{21}X_2) - m_1X_1
\frac{dX_2}{dt} = r_2X_2(1-\frac{X_2}{K_2}) + X_2(a_{21}X_1)(1-\frac{X_2}{K_2}) - X_2(a_{12}X_1) - m_2X_2

I know that I can set that up in Julia with the DifferentialEquations.jl package like this:

r1 = 1.5
r2 = 1.9
a12 = 0.010975
a21 = 0.01
m1 = 1.4
m2 = 1.3
k1 = 5000
k2 = 2000

function eqns!(dx, x, p, t)
    dx[1] = r1*x[1]*(1-(x[1]/k1)) + x[1]*(a12*x[2])*(1-(x[1]/k1)) - 
            x[1]*(a21*x[2]) - m1*x[1]
    dx[2] = r2*x[2]*(1-(x[2]/k2)) + x[2]*(a21*x[2])*(1-(x[2]/k2)) - 
            x[2]*a12*x[1] - m2*x[2]
end

x0 = [100.0; 1000.0]
tspan = (0.0, 10.0)
prob = ODEProblem(eqns!, x0, tspan)
sol = solve(prob)
plot(sol)

Which gives the resulting plot:

But in this example I have to define every parameter manually and then write out each equation. I want a way to set each parameter programatically so that in a 50-container system, rather than manually setting a_{ij} manually for each combo of i and j where i \text{ and } j = \{x \space \epsilon \space \mathbb{Z} \space | \space 0 < x \leq 50 \} I would simply call some function get_a(i, j) and get that value for any i and j combo.