Distributions.jl - pdf() for Continuous Uniform Distribution

Hello,

I’m taking a free online course in Bayesian Statistics (I have no background in this :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:) and I’m trying to work through the course with Distributions.jl (and eventually Turing.jl) so that I can learn all of these things together. I’ve run into an issue though in computing probabilities for a continuous uniform distribution. Given a continuous uniform distribution Uniform(0, 1), how would I compute P(0.2 ≤ X ≤ 0.8) in Julia? I realize that this is a trivial question (according to the course the answer is just 0.8 - 0.2 = 0.6) but I’d like to know how to compute it with the Distributions package.

For a binomial distribution, I can just use the pdf() function like this:

using Distributions

b = Binomial(3, 0.2)

# To compute P(0 ≤ X ≤ 2) I can just do this: 

sum(pdf.(b, collect(0:2)))

But for the uniform distribution, I get 7.0 (instead of 0.6) when I do this:

u = Uniform(0, 1)

sum(pdf.(u, collect(0.2:0.1:0.8)))

And I get 1.0 no matter what number I plug into pdf(u, x). For example:

julia> pdf(u, 0.5)
julia> pdf(u, 0.8)

When you want to calculate the probability of some event (generally, some subset of the possible outcomes), you want to use the cumulative distribution function (CDF, cdf in Distributions.jl). For a probability distribution function f, the CDF is

F(b) = \int_0^b f(x) dx

This is \Pr(X < b), the probability that the outcome is less than x. So to get \Pr(a < x < b), you want

\int_a^b f(x) dx = \int_0^b f(x) dx - \int_0^a f(x) dx = F(b) - F(a).

It just so happens that summation works for discrete distributions, but the CDF is also defined for them. So, short story, use something like

cdf(Uniform(0, 1), 0.6) - cdf(Uniform(0, 1), 0.2)
3 Likes

Thanks so much!

I’m stuck on another one :confounded: Any idea how to compute the following with Distributions.jl?

Let Y ∼ Gamma(2, 1/3). Find P(0.5 < Y < 1.5)