User-defined distribution function example

I am new to Julia, and I want to define my own distribution function. I found this post and followed the documentation, but I did not understand where do I put in the actual function (namely f(x)) of the distribution. Can someone help me with an example of say defining a gaussian distribution?

2 Likes

You probably just need to learn how to create functions in general, as explained here. And then use that function for whatever you need, without worrying about the Distributions package. The idea of creating a sampler and all that is a little more involved than just a regular function. Do you know the equation you want to implement?

1 Like

@alejandromerchan my distribution is x\exp(-x) for x\in (0, \infty)
If I look at the example code from the post

type MyDist <: ContinuousUnivariateDistribution
    mu::Float64
    sigma::Float64
    MyDist(mu, sigma) = new(Float64(mu), Float64(sigma))
end

pdf(d::MyDist, x::Float64) = pdf(Normal(d.mu, 2*d.sigma), x)

I do not understand where should I introduce my function.
In this code the Normal distribution is used, but how to insert a custom function like f(x)=x*exp(-x) ?

I’m not sure I understand the question, but maybe you just want

pdf(d::MyDist, x::Float64) = x * exp(-x)
1 Like

@jbrea I cannot even make the first part work, where the MyDist definition is.
Could you give an example of how to define a distribution with the function f(x)=xe^{-x}?

Here is a full example

julia> using Distributions

julia> struct MyDist <: ContinuousUnivariateDistribution end

julia> Distributions.pdf(::MyDist, x) = x * exp(-x)
pdf (generic function with 73 methods)

julia> pdf(MyDist(), 3)

The example you posted is quite old julia code; type was renamed to stuct at some point.

3 Likes

@jbrea thanks!
But how do I sample from it?
I tried

struct MyDist <: ContinuousUnivariateDistribution end
Distributions.pdf(::MyDist, x) = x * exp(-x)
d = MyDist()
rand(d)

But this doesn’t work.