Could we maybe revisit the idea of letting anyone click the “solved” button on help topics?
Someone has been reading through an ancient topic today (Chess.jl could use some love), and seems to be having fun clicking on the “solved” button for various posts as they read through it, and it keeps sending me notifications each time.
I doubt this is good for anyone. Maybe we can limit the “solved” button to only be usable by the original poster or mods?
I know I’ve accidentally clicked on this stupid button a few times before while reading, and I sometimes worry I’ve done it without noticing, and sent out a few hundred notifications. Maybe there’s a way to make there be a popup that says “Are you sure you want to mark this post as the solution?”
I found that there’s a way to disable this type of notification from the settings panel, but IMO that’s also not ideal, because it can be good to know if a topic I’ve engaged in gets solved (if there is an actual solution, not just some person who has fun clicking the button)
You do currently need to be a trust level 3 “regular” or the OP in order to tick that box… so that’s only 50-ish folks. Looking at the config options, there’s a new one! Here are the current settings as of this post:
I’ll immediately turn on “show who marked solved,” which doesn’t solve your problem (the noise/notifications), but it does solve a related question I’ve often asked. Even as a mod/admin this has been ridiculously opaque to me (I have this old meta topiced)
It would be nice if the notification would “debounce” a quick accidental click; I definitely accidentally click it myself, too.
Actually, I do think these notifications are debounced; I was doing some very rough testing and was unable to generate notifications with a short-duration (sub-15 second) solved mark.
There are three classes of notification, I think:EDIT: THIS IS WILDLY WRONG. I wish it would behave like this:
I think the topic OP gets notified
The poster whose post was marked solved gets notified
People watching or tracking the thread get notified if this notifications pref is enabled (and it is by default)
I’m pretty sure the last one started to happen only a few months ago and every time I’ve found the notification uninteresting. I’m much in favor of turning that preference off.