Different results with different macros for profiling

Hi everyone,

I’m relatively new to kernel programming with CUDA.jl and am currently implementing a kernel to compute attention using a sliding-window attention mechanism.

While profiling the code, I observed that the runtime varies depending on the macro used:

CUDA.@profile CUDA.@sync AttnGPU.sliding_window_attn!(
    attn.window_attn, Q, K, mask, idx_matrix,
    embed, seq_len, batch_size, w, kernels_window[1]
)

Total time: 346.58 µs

CUDA.@bprofile CUDA.@sync AttnGPU.sliding_window_attn!(
    )

Time distribution: 59.37 µs ± 32.58 ( 44.32 ‥ 149.44)

time = fill(0.0, 1000)
for i in 1:1000
    time[i] = CUDA.@elapsed CUDA.@sync AttnGPU.sliding_window_attn!(
    )
end
println("Average time in μs: ", sum(time) * 1e6 / size(time, 1))

Mean time: 180.53 µs

I’m unsure if these differences arise from an error on my part or if there are other factors at play. Additionally, I’m curious which method provides a more reliable estimate of the kernel’s execution time.

Thanks for your insights!

Hi,

CUDA.@profile will execute your code only once, so if you run a small code block, you will get a poor (high variance) estimate of the expected run time. Additionally, I think there’s also some ‘warm-up’ involved (apart from compilation), meaning your code will run slower if it only runs once. Of course, you could get around this by profiling a loop repeating your code, but that’s already close to the point of CUDA.@bprofile.

Without access to the AttnGPU.sliding_window_attn! implementation, I’ll use

using CUDA
x = CUDA.rand(Float32, 10^8)
y = similar(x)
y .= x .* 2

as an example. With CUDA.@profile y .= x .* 2, I get anything between 2 and 100 ms, but typically around 80 ms. By contrast,

CUDA.@profile begin
    for _ = 1:1000
        CUDA.@sync y .= x .* 2
    end
end