Cumsum behaviour on sparse arrays

Hi there,

I’m rather new to Julia (and already enjoying it a lot), so please don’t be too hard on me if my topic doesn’t make that much sense. However I think I noticed a somewhat surprising behaviour when cumsum (cumulated sum) is applied to a SparseVector which also leads to a large performance issue in certain cases:

using SparseArrays
prob_vec = sprand(10, 0.2)

10-element SparseVector{Float64,Int64} with 2 stored entries:
[2 ] = 0.459558
[10] = 0.50192

res = cumsum(prob_vec)

10-element SparseVector{Float64,Int64} with 9 stored entries:
[2 ] = 0.459558
[3 ] = 0.459558
[4 ] = 0.459558

[7 ] = 0.459558
[8 ] = 0.459558
[9 ] = 0.459558
[10] = 0.961478

So once cumsum found the first non-zero entry all subsequent indices are not sparse anymore. I understand that this has to happen mathematically, in case you want to check in-between indices like 7. But it might be misleading for some users to call res a SparseVector, letting them believe res is still sparse and fast in subsequent operations.

In my specific case prob_vec is a probability vector (sum(prob_vec)=1) and I was interested in

sel_ind = findfirst(cumsum(prob_vec).>rand())

which was extremely slow compared to (factor 1000 difference on a large prob_vec)

prob_vec_inds, prob_vec_vals = findnz(prob_vec)
prob_cum = cumsum(prob_vec_vals)
sel_ind = prob_vec_inds[findfirst(prob_cum.>rand())]

due to the behaviour of cumsum on large SparseVectors. Maybe there is a way to notify users about this behaviour?

Best

Welcome @mlanghinrichs to the Julia community and the discourse forum.

I agree that returning a sparse vector is not very helpful in a situation in which you know a priori that only the first few elements will be structurally zero. I wonder if one should change the behavior of cumsum for sparse vectors/arrays. On the other hand, if you know that your input is going to be sparse, maybe it’s really better to address your very own needs in your very own code?