CuArray allocation issue: How often is it a problem?

Hi there, I’m thinking about making use of Flux and CuArrays for a new project. However, I was a little troubled to learn about this issue. It’s hard to a get a sense from that thread how often this is coming up as a problem for people. How many other folks are pushing CuArrays to a similar limit? How many folks have done so and run into this problem? Has anyone run into anything similar with KnetArrays using Knet? (On a related note, how realistic is it to use KnetArrays as part of a Flux model? Is that possible?) Just looking to get a sense of what I am walking into.

1 Like

I have been forced to optimize the KnetArray memory allocator to be able to implement large(ish) models, e.g. https://github.com/knetml/Mac-Network replicating [1803.03067] Compositional Attention Networks for Machine Reasoning. More recently I started playing with large neural machine translation models based on RNNs and Transformers which provide a very good test for robust memory management and made additional improvements which will be in the next release (e.g. https://github.com/denizyuret/Knet.jl/commit/a2f91b2294329add8b3f0509c2a100bb63663211). If you try your model and find any problems, let me know.

(To answer the original question in the title: depends on the problem, the more irregular array sizes are (think different sentence lengths in NMT) and the larger minibatch sizes are the more pressure on the memory manager and the more risk things will go wacky before gc has a chance to clear it up).

2 Likes

Thanks @denizyuret, that’s helpful!

1 Like

Hi Deniz,

I appreciate your work on this – I’d imagine it isn’t easy.

So this seems like a trend to note and keep in mind for future Julia ML feature development / roadmap etc. >>

38 results for “ERROR: Out of gpu memory” here >> Search results for 'ERROR: Out of gpu memory ' - JuliaLang