Creating GRASS.jl good or bad idea?

Dear all,

I start working with Julia and I feel a lack of integrated GIS package. I can find many packages that sometimes need to be used together to have a full workflow. That is great but the GeoJulia ecosystem still miss of an integrated package with precoded functions such as the ones we can find in QGIS or GRASS. I would like to help the community but as I am a beginner with Julia I would like our opinion first and maybe some tips.

First, do you thing a wrapper for GRASS GIS could be interesting ? Here an example of function from the GRASS GIS Documentation: r.to.vect - GRASS GIS manual

Second, if the answer is yes to the previous question, do you have guide, tutorial, tips to create this wrapper ? I never wrap C function to Julia or any other language, so it is an unknown world for me.

Thank you for your reading.

3 Likes

Hi, regardless of the interest, I’m afraid wrapping GRASS is not even doable because, AFAIK, GRASS is not a library and so it has no mechanism to make the data I/O visible to Julia’s ccall mechanism (the one used to interface with external libraries).

But note that between GMT.jl & GDAL.jl you already have available a lot of the operations used in GIS, but not things like the skeletilization + vectorization that you linked to.

I think it’d be a good idea! I occasionally use GRASS functions from the QGIS Processing Toolbox, but a GRASS.jl would be a great addition to the JuliaGeo ecosystem.

I can’t say I’m familiar with GRASS internals. But I just read through GRASS GIS APIs - GRASS-Wiki, and I don’t think this view is complete. Indeed much of the interface is focused around small applications that follow a Unix philosophy. But further on in the linked article they discuss pygrass, rgrass and the C-API. I don’t see why we couldn’t wrap the C-API with Clang.jl, to produce a library similar to Python and R.