Creating decent julia's environment variable paths on UNIX-like system using XDG specs to avoid ~/.julia

As a brand-new julia programmer, I am striving to tidy up my $HOME dir in order to avoid bloating it up with a tons of dotfiles, and at same time, define sane paths to julia using XDG Base Directory Specification. The steps defined in the Official instruction will generate the dir ~/.julia, which is rather unpleasant… So I am trying a way out to this problem following sane UNIX path definitions.

After reading the julia’s environment variables and some discussions about it, I bite the bullet and tried to organize it in the following way (probably not the most optimized, so help me):

Firstly, I decided to put the extracted julia/ directory inside $XDG_DATA_HOME as it is user-specific data files, right? So a ran

mv julia-1.7.2 $XDG_DATA_HOME

The julia’s documentation ask me to define the path to julia’s bin/ dir as an env variable $JULIA_BINDIR. To do so, I defined in ~/.profile:

# The absolute path of the directory containing the Julia executable -> ~/.local/share/julia-1.7.2/bin
export JULIA_BINDIR="$XDG_DATA_HOME/julia-1.7.2/bin"

The documentation also ask me to put the julia bin in the $PATH. Hence, I symlink

ln -s $XDG_DATA_HOME/julia-1.7.2/bin/julia ~/.local/bin/julia

because User-specific executable files shall be stored in $HOME/.local/bin. This resolve the problem of putting the julia into the $PATH as long as ~/.local/bin is in it.

I would also like to put the data and config file of julia into $XDG_DATA_HOME and $XDG_CONFIG_HOME, respectively, which matches with the XDG Base Directory Specifications. So I added in my .profile the following env. variables:

# relative julia's data directory -> $JULIA_BINDIR/$DATAROOTDIR/julia/base -> ~/.local/share/julia/base
export DATAROOTDIR="../.."
# relative julia's config files -> $JULIA_BINDIR/$SYSCONFDIR/julia/startup.jl -> ~/.config/julia/startup.jl
export SYSCONFDIR="../../../../.config"