Convince me to use Julia

Hey all, I’m a statistician and I’m pretty proficient in R and Python, I want to hear all of the reasons I should look into Julia.

If you need to be convinced to switch to a programming language it’s probably not a good idea to do so. I would start by evaluating what you don’t like about your current workflow in R and Python. If you’re happy with it that’s awesome, if not you could see if Julia performs better in that aspects.

21 Likes

It’s less about having to convince me and more just I want to hear what the community loves about Julia. I just didn’t know a better way to ask haha.

5 Likes

I think you find many many threads here on discourse where people express their love to the language.

But to answer your implicit question: I personally love the new ways multiple dispatch provides to structure code and logic and make them sharable unlike any other language does.

Watch this: JuliaCon 2019 | The Unreasonable Effectiveness of Multiple Dispatch | Stefan Karpinski - YouTube

11 Likes

I use R for my research on a daily basis and after I start using Julia I haven’t needed to use Rcpp ever since. Writing R and cpp at the same time has been really a big distraction to my workflow.

Also, there are a lot of legacy statistics code written in Matlab which can be easily translated into Julia.

4 Likes

We get “convince me to switch to Julia” posts every week.
My buddy sent me this link today morning

9 Likes

Would you be posting here if you didn’t already deep down know that Julia was a better option? :wink:

17 Likes

This is actually the article that got me more interested in Julia!

4 Likes

The article gives a summary of the key features of Julia.
Having read that, the only way for you decide if it’s right for you is to download Julia, and your favorite editor (I like Juno), and test it out yourself.

I learned a bit from: https://people.smp.uq.edu.au/YoniNazarathy/julia-stats/StatisticsWithJulia.pdf

2 Likes

You don’t need Numpy.