ControlSystems / Frequency in Hz for bodeplot

Hello,

I would like to know how to change the xaxis unit (rad/s) to frequency for bodeplot.

Thanks in advance.
Patrick.

I’m no expert, but a clarifying question…:

• is it purely the xaxis text you want to change, or is it both the text and the scaling (so that the abcissa actually is the frequecy in Hz)?

One of my frustrations with MATLAB’s Control TB is that it defaults to β€œs” (step, impulse) and β€œrad/s” for Bodeplots… I often consider systems where β€œmin”, β€œh”, β€œday”, β€œweek” – or β€œms” for that matter - is the time unit. I’m sure it is possible to override this in MATLAB, but it is not intuitive how to do this – at least not the way my brain works.

Hopefully, this is simpler in ControlSystems of Julia. If it is only to change the text, my first attempt would be just specify xlabel = "Hz". If you need to scale the axis, a cumbersome way is to scale the time constants, etc with 2*pi.

Hi BLI,

I want also to change the scale. I am an electronic designer and we are dealing with frequency in Hz, not the rad/s.

Patrick.

You can always do

mag, phase, w = bode(sys)
plot(w./(2pi), mag)

and if on master branch, I think you can do

mag, phase, w = bode(sys)
plot(w./(2pi), mag, seriestype=:bodemag)

(not entierly sure about the keyword seriestype though)

Also you could check out the SampledSignals package, which is designed to represent regularly-sampled data and is samplerate-aware. the SampleBuf type holds time-series data, and when you take the fft of it you get a SpectrumBuf. the domain function will give you the x-axis values, either in seconds or Hz, respectively. So plotting the spectrum is just

using Plots
using SampledSignals

julia> buf = SampleBuf(rand(1024) .* sin.(linspace(0,2Ο€,1024)), 48000)
1024-frame, 1-channel SampleBuf{Float64, 1}
0.021333333333333333s sampled at 48000.0Hz