ContinuousCallback for early termination of ODE fails to trigger

Hi all,

I’m new to Julia, and I’m trying to simulate a simple ODE problem with some callbacks. My model consists of one single equation with two terms, one positive for growth, and one negative for decrease. However, the term for decrease depends on an external parameter I, which acts as a cyclic ON – OFF switch, the duration of an on-off cycle is defined by τ, and the fraction of the cycle where I is on is determined by duty. To represent the switch between on and off I’ve calculated all the timepoints where there would be a change in I, store those in 3 vectors (discontinuities, ON and OFF) and used the vectors to set up two discrete callbacks, where I save the states right before and after the callbacks.

My issue arises with the last callback I want to implement. As I follows a cyclic ON – OFF pattern, my state u ends up having a sawtooth pattern, with multiple local maxima and minima, but in the long term, its overall behavior is a decrease from its initial value of 1.0 to a certain stability point. I want to set up a continuous callback that stops the integration when the solution is close enough to that stable point, and for that, I set up a continuous callback that saves the local maxima and then compares the values of the last two saved maxima, and if they are within a certain tolerance, stops the integration.

I’ve run the script in the debugger from VSCode and verified that the continuous callback is indeed properly saving the values of the local maxima, and it does compare the value of the last maximum with the previous one, but for some reason it fails to trigger the callback. I leave you here a minimal working example of my code:

using DifferentialEquations, Plots, Sundials

I = 200.0
I_max = 200.0   
I_min = 0.0     
tolerance = 0.00001
discontinuities::Vector{Float64} = []
ON::Vector{Float64} = []
OFF::Vector{Float64} = []
saved_maxima::Vector{Tuple{Float64, Float64}} = []