Continuation of nonlinear normal modes with BifurcationKit.jl

Dear all,

I am new to Julia, and came to notice this package for the continuation of autonomous dynamical systems. I tried to apply it to the computation of normal modes of second-order dynamical systems. Briefly, I am interested in the free vibrations of nonlinear mechanical systems, which are modeled as second-order autonomous ODES. However, these vibrations can be quite complex due to their nonlinearity. Specifically, there are solutions with Auto that I wish to mimic:
COMPUTATION OF NONLINEAR NORMAL MODES, PART II: NUMERICAL CONTINUATION IN AUTO
I have already tried following the examples in the package, with the trapezoidal method and simple shooting, but with no success.

Edit:
As an example, consider the Duffing oscillator, which is a second-order autonomous conservative ODE:
where the H function is the Hamiltonian (total energy). The relation Amplitude vs frequency of vibration is called the backbone curve. If b = 0, a > 0, then the system is a linear oscillator and the backbone is a vertical line at omega = sqrt(a). For any other real parameters, this line bends towards higher or lower omegas. This is the curve I am interested in.

The problem is, for constant a, b, the continuation problem does not depend on any parameter, but on the initial energy itself, i.e., the initial condition. If I encode this system, this would result in:

> using BifurcationKit, Setfield, Parameters
> function F!(f, x, p, t=0)
    @unpack a, b = p
    f[1] = x[2]
    f[2] = -a*x[1] -b*(x[1]^3)) 
    return f
end
F(x,p,t = 0) = F!(similar(x),x,p,t)

Here, F is the vector field of the first-order equivalent system, with phase-space variables x[1] = x, x[2] = dx/dt. If i follow the provided reference, then this vector field would be rewritten as

> function F2!(f, x, p, t=0)
@unpack a, b, T, λ = p
    f[1] = T*(x[2]) + λ*(a*x[1] + b*(x[1]^3))
    f[2] = T*(-a*x[1] -b*(x[1]^3)) + λ*(x[2])
    return f
end