Constant time Gaussian and Bilateral filter

Hi,

I’m still learning the julia language and to do so I try to implement different published algorithms that I found useful for my work (I’m a biologist and I do a lot of image analysis). So I have an implementation of the constant time Gaussian filter (O1gaussnd) from the papers of Sugimoto et al. (https://doi.org/10.3169/mta.3.12 ; Fast Gaussian filter with second-order shift property of DCT-5 | IEEE Conference Publication | IEEE Xplore ; Compressive Bilateral Filtering | IEEE Journals & Magazine | IEEE Xplore) that I found to outperform the solution of imfilter. The code can be found on here: GitHub - gschivre/Constant-time-gaussian-filter

This code also propose an implementation of the compressive bilateral filter (CBLF) (from the same authors) that lead to a constant time bilateral filtering as well as a draft of the implementation of the constant time first and second order Gaussian derivative filter (Fastdgauss and Fastd2gauss).

I create this topic because this code might be of interest for the images analysis community, and also because I feel like some people more experimented than me with julia could easily improve my code for including them in the ImageFiltering package :slight_smile:

benchmark

2 Likes

Can you show your code? (EDIT: I see, it’s in https://github.com/gschivre/Constant-time-gaussian-filter/blob/main/benchgauss.jl.) And which kernel from ImageFiltering did you benchmark against? You should include KernelFactors.IIRGaussian in your comparisons, if you haven’t already. (Since imfilter is pretty much constant with σ, perhaps you used it already, but I can’t tell.)