Confusing documentation on "Data-race freedom"

So I’m brand new at multi-threading and I basically want to lock access to a global variable to all other threads while one task writes to it. I’m looking at the documentation Multi-Threading · The Julia Language and I can’t make heads or tail as to what “a” is supposed to mean in

lock(a) do
     use(a)
end

If I have a variable MyGlobal and I’m trying to update a field:

function update_global_field(x)
    global MyGlobal
    MyGlobal.field = x
end

How do I get a task to write to this field and other tasks to read from this field without race conditions? I tried

lock(MyGlobal) do
     update_global_field(x)
end

but that didn’t work.

1 Like

You can’t lock arbitary things.
You can only lock things that implement the lock method.
Which predominantly is subtypes of AbstractLock
So do a

using Base.Threads
const my_global_lock = ReentrantLock()

lock(my_global_lock) do
    update_global_field(x)
end
2 Likes

So how do I use this lock to stop other functions from reading this global variable until I’m done writing to it? What did “my_global_lock” actually lock?

It is a lock. It didn’t lock anything. It is a lock, it is the thing that is locked.
lock(my_global_lock) locked my_global_lock
If some other thread tried to do lock(my_global_lock) then it would be blocked.

You often will want to pair a lock with a variable (or sometimes a set of variables, or sometimes a part of a value like a column in an array or even entry with a given hash of its index or …).

So the basic way you would to is:

using Base.Threads
const my_global_lock = ReentrantLock()
my_global_value = nothing

function set_value!(x)
    lock(my_global_lock) do
        global my_global_value
        my_global_value = x
    end
end

function get_value(x)
    return lock(my_global_lock) do
        return my_global_value
    end
end

then if you only access my_global_value
via set_value! and get_value and never directly then you are safe.