Conditional SUM when the indices of one vector match the indices of another

Hello guys.

I am quite new at Julia and coding entirely, so I’d appreciate some help to the probably dumb question below.

I am trying to solve an optimisation problem for a nodal system of 24 points. At the moment I am trying to sum all demands that I have in each node, and create a vector with 24 elements (wherever I have no demands to get 0). But I am messing up somewhere and getting only 0 in all 24 nodes.

So the code so far looks like that:

#SETS
Demand = collect(1:17) #Energy Demand Points
Nodes = collect(1:24) #Nodal points

#DATA
Consumption = [84,75,139,58,55,106,97,132,135,150,205,150,245,77,258,141,100]

Demand_Node = [1,2,3,4,2,6,3,8,9,10,20,14,17,16,18,19,20]

for n in length(Nodes)
q_Demand_Nodal[n] ==
if n == (Demand_Node[d] for d in Demand)
sum(Consumption[d] for d in Demand)
else
end
end

I’ve even tried with this one below, but still nothing.

if Nodes[n] == (Demand_Node[d] for d in Demand)
sum(Consumption[d])
else
end

Could anyone help me with this easy issue?

Thank you in advance.

Hi! First of all, code is easier to read here if you put it between pairs of ``` like this:

```
# code here
```

Your intent is different than what you are writing here, let’s see:

n == (Demand_Node[d] for d in Demand) can never be true because you’re comparing n to the whole expression in parentheses, which is a generator object. That’s why you get only 0. You want to run this if branch for every d in Demand, right?