Causal.jl vs ModelingToolkit.jl for causal, discrete-time, and Simulink-like systems

I am an experienced-Simulink user who is trying to move to Julia. My goal is to develop discrete-time(probably stochastic) systems. As a former Simulink user, I always think in terms of block diagrams and signal flows. Recently I discovered that this kind of “time-based” thinking is called causal or assignment-based design. Another approach used by programs such as Modelica is a noncasual or equation-based design, with which I have no experience.

I found that Causal.jl would be the perfect package for me. However, even though some claim that ModelingToolkit.jl focuses solely on the noncasual approach, its documentation states that it is possible to implement both casual and noncasual models.

Which one should I use? Casual or noncasual? Causal.jl or ModelingToolkit.jl? the latter has a larger community, but its documentation examples use approaches I am not used to.

4 Likes

Acausal modeling is a strict generalization of causal modeling. Acausal modeling where you only link inputs to outputs is causal modeling. But, in order to support acausal models, one needs to be able to compiler transformations to the code in order to reduce the index of the DAEs. Because of this, acausal modeling systems need to have a system for doing a lot of optimizations to the global system, which is what generally makes them fast.

But, causal modeling systems live in a much restricted space, so they do not require this more general compilation system. This means every box can be treated in isolation, and can even be solved in isolation instead of in the whole. This is what is then seen in causal modeling frameworks, where they both don’t include an optimizing compiler but allow for integers in a per block mode. This makes them generally slow, but flexible: you can have an SDE in one block and an ODE in another.