Built-in vs. user-defined functions

Hello,

I am relatively new to Julia. I am mainly interested in Julia because of the performance. There are some functions that are built in Julia like sum(). A custom sum function is worse in performance than the built-in sum function. How come those built-in functions run faster than the custom ones? How can we make our custom functions run as fast as the built-in functions in Julia?

sum is a bit special as it goes down to some llvm, C - ish things as you can imagine, since Julia is not a self-host language.

But in general, you can use @which and @edit to find how Julia’s stdlib does it, for example:

julia> @which sortperm(rand(3))
sortperm(v::AbstractArray{T,1} where T; alg, lt, by, rev, order) in Base.Sort at sort.jl:904

and if you open up that line (or do @edit instead), you will see how they are implemented in Julia:
https://github.com/JuliaLang/julia/blob/971e769479a2947a55cc253dc9750fd2a361367a/base/sort.jl#L915

2 Likes

No it’s not built in.

And no it’s not, since sum is written in julia.

Read the base code and see how they are implemented in julia. See the second half of @jling 's answer for that.

Errr, not really.

And this is just completely irrelevant. Even a “self host” language does not mean it use nothing else.

10 Likes

well, apology for not using technical language but for example if one wants to know how Julia implement add, it ‘doesn’t’:
+ of integers is Core.Intrinsics.add_int and that:

julia> @which Core.Intrinsics.add_int(1,2)
ERROR: ArgumentError: argument is not a generic function
Stacktrace:
 [1] which(::Any, ::Any) at ./reflection.jl:1142
 [2] top-level scope at REPL[21]:100 

so FWIW, sum and certain functions are not ‘learnable’ unlike sortperm where one can digest parts of the algorithms in a meaningful way.

of course even self-host languages can use things like BLAS and so on, but it can potentially have more ‘digestible’ functions implemented in the language itself was my thought.