Bug types in Julia: what types of bugs in Julia programs have you experienced? Are they different from bug types in general programming languages like C/C++?

Dear community,

Hope everyone is doing safe in these stressful times. I am just getting started with Julia programs and wanted to know about the bug types that typically occur. Are bug types the same as C/C++ or Java? Do different Julia bug types have different consequences?

2 Likes

This is a very general question, so I am not sure what you are expecting here.

If you just write pure Julia, then memory allocation bugs (as eg in C) will not happen, but all kinds of other bugs can. Generally the (near-)zero cost abstractions are a good way to guard against a lot of bugs: eg in

for x in v
    do_something(x)
end

the iteration interface will take care of traversing v, precluding all kinds of coding errors that may entail (off-by-one, etc).

Well-designed interfaces hide complexity and can thus reduce bugs, but require some investment for the initial design.

2 Likes

The main difference that I’ve experienced is due to the fact that Julia is a dynamic programming language.

The most common bugs that I have encountered are actually those simple and stupid mistakes e.g. syntax error, method misspelled, wrong number of arguments, wrong type being passed to functions, etc. Sometimes VSCode linter can give me a hint but it doesn’t cover all cases.

I figured that test-driven development is super important for a dynamic language like Julia. So, I started making small functions and writing tests at the same time. Now, I just need to run the tests before I run the program. Perhaps unsurprisingly I am also making the code better. Functions become more composable. They are also smaller and easier to read.