Bipartite weighted network

Hello,

I am new to Julia (moving from Python). I am trying to generate a bipartite weighted network from a data frame. The data frame contains the “edgelist” (i.e., a column for bottom nodes, and a column for top nodes), and a column for the weights of the edge. I found the GraphDataFrameBridge package that creates a network from two columns of the data frame, but it creates a unipartite network, and it is not clear how to import the weights. Any suggestions?

Thank you very much!

If you have an edgelist representing a bipartite network (and you’ve verified that the graph represented by those edges is bipartite), I don’t know why GraphDataFrameBridge would be creating something that’s unipartite. Do you have a MWE you can share?

Thank you very much,
I was able to decompose the problem. Now I can import the edgelist as a bipartite network. The problem was that (if I understand correctly) GraphDataFrameBridge accepts only nodes’ labels of the same type. I initially had top nodes’ labels as “Floats” and bottom nodes as “Strings” and when I converted to the same type, some top and bottom nodes turned out to have the same label.

However, I still have 2 issues:

a) (even if is_bipartite(mg) now gives true), when I try to export the adjacency matrix from the example below, I still obtain a 7X7 unweighted matrix instead of a 4X3 weighted matrix.

using Distances
test=DataFrame(A = ["i", "j", "k", "z"], B = ["1", "2", "2", "3"], weights = [2,3,4,1])
mg = MetaGraph(test, :A, :B, weight=:weights)
is_bipartite(mg)
w=Array(adjacency_matrix(mg))
#R = pairwise(Euclidean(), w, dims=2)

b) I cannot figure out how to create a list of correspondence between the indexes assigned by MetaGraph and the labels of the original nodes. Something like:

1 “i”
2 “j”

6 “2”

Thank you very much for your help.