Best practices for NonlinearSolve definition with temporary arrays

Hi all, I am relatively new to Julia. Apologies as it’s a long one but I couldn’t find a solution.

I am using NonlinearSolve.jl to solve a somewhat “complicated” system of equations g(u, p) = 0. The reason the function is “complicated” is that in order to calculate g, the code looks like this:

function g(u, p, 
    tempArray1, ..., tempArrayN, 
    fixedArray1, ..., fixedArrayM)

<tons of calculations>
        return gvalue

end

In this pseudocode:

• tempArrayX are arrays that are passed into the function to reduce the number of allocations of the code itself. The arrays are “temporary” (for the lack of a better word) as they are modified in place. Some are vectors, some others are matrices, etc. They all have well specified sizes and types (mostly composed of vectors of Float64s).
  • fixedArrayX are arrays that are passed as auxiliary parameters necessary in the code to compute g. I called them fixed as they are not modified inside g or any other function, and they could be passed using this syntax or within a struct using Parameters.jl and unpacking.

There are a large number of temp and fixed arrays, think of more than 30 of each. They also have different names (as opposed to these very simple ones).

Let me provide a rather silly example:

function g(u, p, temp_values, fixed_displacement, fixed_power)

fill!(temp_values, zero(eltype(temp_values)))
    temp_values .+= u.^ fixed_power 
    vals = temp_values - fixed_displacement .- p
    return vals

end

# PARAMETERS USED
n_u = 5
fixed_power = 2.0
temp_values = zeros(n_u)
fixed_displacement = [3.0, 4.0, 5.0, 6.0, 7.0]

My question is how am I supposed to call this function within the NonlinearSolve.solve()? If we call the function from our workspace we get that it is type stable:

@code_warntype g(randn(n_u), ones(n_u), temp_values, fixed_displacement, fixed_power)