Best practice using PackageCompiler.jl (or something else!) for code obfuscation and extensibility

I want to use Julia for a new, proprietary, software package being developed at work, however, a couple of requirements are that the package be deliverable to customers without visible source code and be extensible to allow custom types/functions/objects.

I was able to achieve this by using PackageCompiler.jl to build a relocatable sysimage (as a .dll), which allowed me to access my package’s structs/functions on another machine without being able to view the source.

I’m a noob when it comes to the pre-compilation stuff (and Julia generally), and just want to know if this is best practice? Right now I have to specify the sysimage at startup via the following and I’d like it if I could provide simple instructions to other users to be able to load up this sysimage into their chosen IDE (i.e. VSCode/Pluto/Jupyter)

$ julia --sysimage MyPackageSysimage.dll

julia> using .MyPackage

Thanks!

2 Likes

As for the “obfuscation” part, the following paragraph from the PackageCompiler documentation comes to mind:

https://julialang.github.io/PackageCompiler.jl/dev/apps.html#Reverse-engineering-the-compiled-app

However, IIUC part of the above might be alleviated by new 1.8 features (but I’m not sure exactly how these are meant to be used…)

2 Likes