Best practice to support multiple implementations

Hi

I am a newbie to the language, coming from an OOP background. I have a method as below:

function run(downloader)
       downloader.download()
end

the downloader can have several implementations, for instance, could be downloading from internet or getting data from csv etc.

I am looking for advice on how Julia supports this. keeping in view, type safety, multiple dispatch etc.
In other languages, such as Java, this would be supported by creating an interface

Java example

void run(IDownloader downloader)
       downloader.download()
end

interface IDownloader {
         void download();
}

class CsvDownloader implements IDownloader{
         void download(){}
}

Thanks!
Roh

In this case, it sounds like you could just pass a function:

function run(download)
    download()
end

For more general cases, the analogue of OOP’s object.method(args...) in Julia is method(object, args...). Just like how in OOP you can overload a method for an object, in the same way for Julia you can overload functions for particular argument types (based on any/all of the argument types — this is called “multiple dispatch”, whereas traditional OOP is “single dispatch” because the method called only depends on the type of object and not on the other arguments).

For example, if you write

sqr(a) = a * a

in Julia, then it will work on any type of a object that has implemented a method for the function (*)(a, a), i.e. * with two arguments of the type of a.

1 Like

thanks for your elaborate response. this is indeed a wonderful community.

“Julia you can overload functions for particular argument types (based on any/all of the argument types”

in my case, the arguments are the same for multiple implementations of the download function.

Also, not sure:

1. Does this impact performance? not specifying the arguments with function passed in as an arg. Also, please consider the scenario where run() takes in multiple functions as args.