Understanding multiple dispatch

Hi, I am studying Multiple dispatch, and have some troubles.

While studying Julia language, I understood that

Multiple dispatch is something that selecting which method to be applied based on the argument’s type.

In that sense, I understood that even the simple “+” function of Julia has multiple methods and we are using multiple dispatch concepts naturally. (I guess Julia document also said like this.)

However, as far as i know, the same thing can be applied in Python too in terms of this + function.

Python also be able to calculate 1+1 and 1.0 + 1.0 with the same function, +. (Of course, string + string also works)

Then, can we say that Python is also using multiple dispatch?

I am curious because I read that Python is not able to implement multiple dispatch.

Thanks.

1 Like

python has __add__() and friends to implement what’s called “operator overloading”, it is not multiple dispatch.

Python people also sometimes do a lot of manual dispatch:

self.__add__(self, y):
   if isinstance(y, type1):
   elif isinstance(y, type2):
4 Likes

Actually, Python needs two different functions to simulate multiple dispatch (dispatch on both arguments of +), and it only works for a few “magic” functions. This is discussed in @jeff.bezanson’s PhD thesis:

Numbers tend to be among the most complex features of a language. Numeric types usually need to be a special case: in a typical language with built-in numeric types, describing their behavior is beyond the expressive power of the language itself. For example, in C arithmetic operators like + accept multiple types of arguments (ints and floats), but no user-defined C function can do this (the situation is of course improved in C++). In Python, a special arrangement is made for + to call either an __add__ or __radd__ method, effectively providing double-dispatch for arithmetic in a language that is idiomatically single-dispatch.