Beginners question: how to formulate this assignment/scheduling problem?

Hi all,
I’m quite new to mathematical programming. I try to solve this seemingly simple problem:

I have N speakers and M > N slots for talks. Each slot can hold a single talk. Other constrains may be added. How should I distribute the slots so that the time a speaker has to wait between each of her talks is “as regular as possible”?

I thought that would be an easy MIP problem. I could expressed the assignments in a matrix with binary variables and defining the constrains. However, I’m completely lost how to formulate a objective function that gives “regular intervals”.
For example, if we have 3 speakers and 6 slots, this would be a good assignments (everybody has to way 3 slots):

A1 = [ 1 0 0;
       0 1 0;
       0 0 1;
       1 0 0;
       0 1 0;
       0 0 1]

but this not (because the third speaker gives two talks in a row):

A2 = [1 0 0;
      0 1 0;
      0 0 1;
      0 0 1;
      0 1 0;
      1 0 0]

I know that is not really a Julia question, but I’d be very grateful for every hint!

1 Like

There is a stackexchange for more modeling type questions: https://or.stackexchange.com

You could, for example, add constraints like this which limit the ability to have back-to-back talks:

for m in 2:(M - 1)
    @constraint(model, sum(x[(m - 1):(m + 1)]) <= 1)
end

Otherwise a common approach to this is to generate a bunch of columns in your matrix a priori, assign a binary variable for each column/speaker pair (indicating if the speaker has talks for the column) and then have constraints saying that the sum across the row has to be <= 1 (at most one talk per slot) and that each speaker has to pick one column. Then your objective coefficients can measure how “regular” the talks in a particular column are. But a naive implementation can scale poorly as M gets large.