Avoiding memory allocation for solves with multiple right-hand sides

Hi everyone,

I am new to Julia and I try to understand why a solve using the backslash operator allocates memory although the RHS vector is allocated, the solution vector is allocated and the factorisation is precomputed (here Cholesky factorisation). Is there a way to avoid such behaviour?

Below is a minimum example.

Cheers and thanks for the hints!

using LinearAlgebra, SparseArrays

function Successive_solves!( x, Kc, b, nsolves )
    for i=1:nsolves
        x  .= Kc\b 
    end 
    return
end

function ThreePointStencil( N, dx )
    # Assemble matrix (not the part of interest)
    cC =  2.0/dx^2 * ones(Float64, N); cC[1]   = 3.0/dx^2; cC[end]   = 3.0/dx^2
    cW = -1.0/dx^2 * ones(Float64, N); cW[1]   = 0.0
    cE = -1.0/dx^2 * ones(Float64, N); cE[end] = 0.0
    iC = 1:N
    iW = ones(Int64, N); iW[2:end-0] .= iC[1:end-1]
    iE = ones(Int64, N); iE[1:end-1] .= iC[2:end-0]
    I  = [iC[:]; iC[:]; iC[:]]
    J  = [iC[:]; iW[:]; iE[:]]
    V  = [cC[:]; cW[:]; cE[:]]
    K  = sparse( I, J, V )
    droptol!(K, 1e-9)
    return K
end

# Input
N  = 1000000
dx = 1

# Sparse matrix
K = ThreePointStencil( N, dx )

# Allocate arrays
b = rand(N)           # Right-hand-side array 
x = zeros(Float64, N) # Solution array

# Factor
Kc = cholesky(K)

# One solve
@time x  .= Kc\b  # why does this allocate memory although the factorisation done and the vectors (x, b) are allocated?

# Successive solves
nsolves = 10
@time Successive_solves!( x, Kc, b, nsolves ) # then, memory allocation depends on the number of solves...

It allocates because the operation Kc\b allocates, on the right-hand side. You either have to use an in-place version, or if the matrices are small, use static arrays:

julia> M = rand(3,3);  b = rand(3);

julia> @btime x = $M \ $b;
  346.107 ns (3 allocations: 384 bytes)

julia> using StaticArrays

julia> M = @SMatrix(rand(3,3));  b = @SVector(rand(3));

julia> @btime x = $M \ $b;