Array basics

Hi,

In Haskell when you declare a function you are expected to say before hand what you expect as input and output for instance [Integers] → Integer. How does one do this is Julia. I am no Haskell expert by any strech but I really like the discipline. Partly because i miss that my code is starting to get sloppy.
For instance:

b and e are inputs that look like this :source or :type. Its the annotation used by Metagraphs to denote different metadata parts of a node or vertix. Its is not a Symbol.

function get_metadata(g::AbstractMetaGraph, l::Array,b,e)
    meta_list = []
    for i in 1:nv(g)
        if isin(l,get_prop(g,i,b))
           push!(meta_list,get_prop(g,i,e))
        else
            nothing
        end
    end
    return meta_list
end
  1. How can I check the type julia has given this? And how, in this particular case can I specify it?
  2. The output is an array of elements that are infact always Integers. How do I specify that instead of getting any? Do I do that here or at the moment I add the metadata to a node?
    3)is there documentation or a book specific to julia, which shows the way how you structure this discipline inside of Julia?
julia> B
3-element Array{Any,1}:

You are instantiating

meta_list = []

which will create an array of type Any:

julia> []
Any[]

If you know meta_list will only hold integers, you should instantiate accordingly:

meta_list = Int[]
3 Likes

thanks that is one problem down :slight_smile:

1 Like

Here you go

function myfunc(a::Float64,b::Int64)::Float64
    return a + b
end

But it’s much more fun when you do not tell Julia what the types are. Then you can do wonderful things like this

julia> function myfunc2(a,b)
           return a * b
       end
myfunc2 (generic function with 1 method)

julia> myfunc2("hello ","world")
"hello world"

julia> myfunc2(3,5)

julia> myfunc2([4,5,6],3)
3-element Array{Int64,1}:

julia> myfunc2([1 2 3;4 5 6;7 8 9],[11 12 13;14 15 16; 17 18 19])
3×3 Array{Int64,2}: