[ANN] PatModules.jl: a better module system for Julia

Hey folks. I’m new to Julia, and loving every aspect of it… except for ways of splitting code over multiple files and folders. There, I swiftly discovered that existing ways just don’t really seem to cut it.

Julia primarily uses include(...) to get at code in other files, which everyone with an opinion on language design seems to agree that you shouldn’t do.

Fundamentally, you have to deal with issues of files being included multiple times. Solutions to this problem (only including files once; using header guards; only including at the top-level) makes tracking dependencies harder to reason about (only including once), entail extra maintenance work (header guards), or pollute namespaces (including at top-level).

It’s said that code is read more than it is written, so easy-to-understand code is important. This definitely isn’t the easy-to-use import system that it could be. (Contrast e.g. Python – whose import system has a couple warts, but does generally get the job done.)

Fortunately, Julia’s incredible metaprogramming offers a solution. A little bit macro magic later, I’ve put together PatModules.jl. (I’m not great at names… .) It’s a deliberately minimal attempt to fix the greatest pain points, without trying to do anything too clever: after macro expansion it should look like normal Julia code. Its core design goal is to make it so that you never have to write include ever again, and in doing so avoid these various issues.

So: thoughts, feedback? Obviously folks have been getting by so far without anything like this, but at least speaking for myself it’s made my code a lot easier to reason about.

18 Likes

Is this the right analogy to Julia? I don’t see anyone encouraging Julia users to include package code, so it doesn’t seem like the analogy to C is that sharp.

6 Likes

First of all, welcome to Julia and the forum :slight_smile: