[ANN] Announcing XML.jl

Announcing a pure Julia XML reader/writer.

It powers KML.jl and I’m finally ready to encourage some more testing from the community.

It’s speed looks decent compared to EzXML.jl, but please open issues if you hit cases of poor performance.

Enjoy!

44 Likes

Well I’ve been telling everyone to use it for like six months :wink:

6 Likes

The first link is not working.

Oops, thanks! Fixed.

1 Like

This looks great!

I am extremely interested in this. Do you happen to have some more detailed examples and could you kindly elaborate a bit on what benefits this has compared to something like EzXML.jl?

I see the mention of it being written purely in Julia etc., perhaps someone could explain to me the benefit of this?

Kind regards

1 Like
  1. I’m greedy. I want Julia to be the best at everything.
  2. Packages that are 100% Julia are easier to debug. I’d much rather have @edit lead me to pure Julia code than e.g. a Base.ccall.
  3. In secure computing environments, it can be a burden to move in external dependencies. If Julia is already installed/on your approved software list, you’re all set.
10 Likes

Oh man, you beat me to it! This looks great. It’s been on my list for a while to have a native-Julia XML parser. Love the lazy functionality. Can’t wait to take it for a spin.

8 Likes

Very cool, it’s great seeing more and more infrastructure packages being added to the Julia ecosystem.

Thanks for the package.

I have been using it already in a few occasions, mostly when working with svgs and it worked great so far.

However, in some cases I felt like the package could be shipped with a bit more utility:

1. E.g. I found myself often doing things like
   xml = Document()
   path = Element("path")
   push!(xml.root, path)

which feels repetitive. I then implemented helpers to overload :(>>) so that it could be written as

xml = Document()
   path = Element("path") >> xml.root