A type for metadata?

I’m routinely dealing with data + metadata, and I wanted to get some feedback on ideas for how to operationalize this. I’m a biologist, not a programmer, so it’s likely I’m overlooking some obvious solution. I’ll explain the issue and what I typically do, and some rough ideas for what I’d like to be able to do. Here’s a typical situation:

I have a some clinical samples that contain a bunch of quantitative features (in my case, generally microbial abundances). The most relevant metadata for each sample is the subject (person) from whom the sample came. Each sample only has one subject, but subjects may have multiple samples. I also have clinical metadata for subjects and samples. Patient-specific metadata includes things like gender and disease diagnosis, while sample-specific metadata includes things like date of collection. Some of this metadata may also be quantitative (eg blood cell counts).

In addition, there are other data products that are associated with the data tables. For example, I may do dimensionality reductions on the relative abundance table, generating things like distance matrices and MDS tables.

The way I do this currently is that I have one dataframe that contains the main quantitative data (samples are columns, features are rows). And then I have a separate dataframe that contains all metadata for each sample, where samples are rows and columns are different metadata. I often have to construct this table piecemeal, duplicating a lot of the subject-specific metadata by mapping samples → subjects and then subjects → subject metadata.