A Qubit DSL?

I have a general question, is it possible to design a DSL using Dirac’s bra ket notation? It seems that |> is already used in the language, which corresponds to kets, so I’m not sure what the possibilities are.

For example, could I have something like |0> \tensorProduct |1> , where |0> and |1> parse to 2-dimensional arrays respectively, and the latex symbol for the tensor product be used? I’m new to Julia and wondering if there is a way to achieve this so that it is semantically clean, without using additional symbols.

2 Likes

The main problem is that we’d need a different symbol than | for the bar in the middle. I’m also not sure if we can have <x| and |y> and <x|y>.

1 Like

The correct characters to use are actually \langle and \rangle written \langle and \rangle, respectively. Currently (0.6.2) these are invalid characters in Julia. It would certainly be really cool if they were made into some sort of special delimiters to allow Julia expressions such as |ψ⟩. It would be similarly cool if people could define the function ⟨x⟩.

8 Likes

Yes, even better would be \langle and \rangle. And | \psi \rangle would be great. If it’s possible to do it’s something I am interested in pursuing. I guess I’m really just trying to get a feel for what’s possible with the parser. Like for cross products, is a binary operator necessary? Or can whitespace be meaningful? I have some experience working with the Maude framework, where one can do these sorts of things, along with defining associativity and precedence of operators, but unfortunately, Maude does not support Unicode, which is critical if one wants to have a clean mathematical syntax.

1 Like

Is this a pure syntax question? Or is this a question of how to do this performantly?