100X tensor algebra speedup!?!

Found a very interesting article:
System for performing ‘tensor algebra’ offers 100-fold speedups over previous software packages

I am a newbie in linear algebra but this sounds like something that would be nice to implement in julia. Just curious to hear others’ thoughts on this.

2 Likes

Here’s a search that may get you started.

https://github.com/JuliaLang/julia/search?q=eachstored&type=Issues&utf8=✓

1 Like

Very interesting! Is there any difference in what is being implemented here:
https://github.com/JuliaLang/julia/issues/7010

…from what’s reportedly being done in the the article I mentioned? My knowledge is very limited but the only difference I can see is nonzero values being “compiled” vs. being iterated. Is that correct? Would there be a significant speed difference for compiled Vs. iterated?

Thanks for your thoughts.

Julia already compiles specialized implementations for its arguments. The only “trick” here is switching the algorithm from an O(all_elements) to O(nonzeros) implementation — that’s precisely what eachstored (or some such) could do. The 100x claim is meaningless — it all depends upon how many elements you’re working with since you’re changing the complexity.

1 Like

Yes, usually numbers like that tend to be (for several reasons) just generalizations in spite of being numbers. I was more interested in the question of whether there is anything in the idea that could have application in julia. Any speedup is good. But from appearances we have something similar.

Thanks for explaining it to me :grin: Understanding this may help me to write better code when I do work with sparse data.

Ah, glad to see taco getting a mention here!