A_mul_B! deviates from C = A*B with complex numbers

TL;DR:
LinAlg.A_mul_B!(result, A, α*v) deviates from result = α*A*v.

Hey everybody!

So I am new to the game here. I was drawn to implement the code of my project in Julia because it had all the features I was looking for built in: Sparse Matrices, native Complex Numbers, fast runtime.

Part of my project includes solving iteratively the ODE of the Schrödinger equation:

\partial_t {\psi} = -i H {\psi}

In my project a state vector \psi is represented by a 2^N-component vector; H is represented by a Sparse 2^N \times 2^N Matrix.

I opted for the 4-step (classical) Runge-Kutta solver to preserve the -Norm of the vector.

While debugging I was puzzled by the following (mis-)behaviour of the Low-Level BLAS function LinAlg.A_mul_B!(), which I wanted to employ because of the very high iterations in the iterative solving.

Consider the following code snippet:

N = 2^16

v = randn(N)
v[:] = v/norm(v)

H = sprandn(N, N, 0.002)

result1 = Array{Complex{Float64}}(v)
result2 = Array{Complex{Float64}}(v)

Δt = 0.0005

result1[:] = -im*Δt*H*v
LinAlg.A_mul_B!(result2, H, -im*Δt*v)

println("Do the two results agree?\n$(prod( result1 .== result2 ))")

Δv = norm( result1 - result2 )
println("What is the norm of the difference vector Δv?\n$(Δv)")

println("Δv/Δt = $(Δv/Δt)")

which yields after running the following output:

$ julia snippet.jl

Do the two results agree?
false
What is the norm of the difference vector Δv?
1.390578911436828e-18
Δv/Δt = 2.781157822873656e-15

\mathcal{O}(10^{-15}) might not seem much of a difference, yet I am puzzled there is one at all!
The difference of those two results is accumulating over the four step Runge-Kutta iteration and ends up being \mathcal{O}(2\% \Delta t). This is rather unacceptable for one simple iteration step…

The previous statement can be observed with, for example, this code: