A good coroutines usage example (especially for v0.6)?

I am quite new to the concept of coroutines. I have a situation in which I think it is appropriate to use them, and I’m sure I can figure out how to do that, but I’m not so sure I can figure out how to do that right. Is there a package out there which would serve as a really good example for working with coroutines? An example for v0.6 in which produce and consume are deprecated would be especially nice, as Channels seem to change things a bit. Thanks in advance.

Addendum: Also, I am quite curious as to whether there are concrete plans to allow tasks to be scheduled on multiple threads. That seems to have some pretty big implications for the usefulness of coroutines.

2 Likes

Coroutines have a lot of usage scenarios. Producer-consumer pattern (represented by produce() and consume() functions earlier or tasks and channels now, or by generators in Python, for example) is one of the most popular. Another one is using @sync / @async. Let’s say, we want to fetch 100 web pages. We can do it like this:

urls = ...
pages = Array(100)
for (i, url) in enumerate(urls)
    pages[i] = fetch_page(url)
end

This way we will first download 1st page, then 2nd, then 3rd, etc., each time spending, say, 100ms, or 10 seconds altogether. Clearly, this task is IO-bound, while CPU is almost not used.

Now let’s change the code a bit:

urls = ...
pages = Array(100)
@sync for (i, url) in enumerate(urls)
    @async pages[i] = fetch_page(url)
end

Now each page is downloaded in its own task, and tasks are switched every time it gets to IO operation. Instead of waiting for 100ms for the 1st page to be downloaded, Julia switches to the 2nd task/page almost immediately, then to 3rd, etc. The whole job ends in, say, 200ms instead of 10 seconds, So you get a huge performance boost without multithreading.

5 Likes

Thanks for your response and example.