A blog post involving Julia

Hello,

I’ve just blogged a post involving Julia. It compares the speed of the same algorithm in C++, Haskell, and Julia. Haskell won vs Julia 1.2.0, but now it is beaten by Julia 1.5.2.

Cheers.

7 Likes

Interesting comparison!

I think there are still some micro-optimizations possible in Julia, maybe you can beat the 1s :wink:

Examples:

NewLast = hcat(NewLast, [fin+j, manque-j, j])

This line copies the whole array in each step, this could be done more efficiently by preallocating the complete output array and writing the results in the elements of the corresponding indices.
Furthermore, you may use the @inbounds macro to switch off bounds checks.
Maybe @avx from LoopVectorization.jl could give further speedup.

5 Likes

Thanks. Indeed, I’m not an expert in Julia (neither in C++ and Haskell ^^). I will try to understand your comments later.
By the way it would be nice to have a package with this implementation of the hypergeometric function of a matrix argument. I don’t know how to proceed. If someone is interested…

Did you look at https://github.com/JuliaMath/HypergeometricFunctions.jl ?

The documentation is, well, I couldn’t find any, but if you are familiar with hypergeometric functions in general, you may be able to figure it out, or ask the developers. I’m guessing that performance is pretty good, based on who the developers are.

Might be interesting to compare.

3 Likes

A couple of comments about your code, if you are interested:

1. You really like type annotations, like most people who start out with Julia tend to. But I think it makes your code a bit hard to read, and perhaps needlessly restrictive. I would reduce the annotations, and just see if things work out by themselves, then selectively add back annotations when you find them necessary.