1.0 annoyances and Matlab comparison

I think Julia is advancing very great, not too slow and not too fast. I imagine that people can wait for some more time for the language to stabilize. Julia is a genuine scientific computing language, not just an extension for doing scientific programming on top of a general-purpose language. As such, the core developers and the community are now doing extensive revisions and testing before version 1.0 is out. I used Julia since version 0.2 and will never quit.

I’ve been promoting the use of the language at my institution for more than a year now and have delivered a number of presentations to professors and engineers. That said, I’m not in a place to judge a great language like Julia, I’m not a computer scientist, but the following are some issues that should be taken as constructive criticism. I may be wrong in many of it, or most of it will go away in a near 1.x version, but these are my own observations and feedback from colleagues. Most of the people at my institution are long-term MATLAB/Fortran users.

• using PackageX; using PackageY; using …, there are 1734 registered Julia packages at the time, MATLAB covers all science with 86 toolboxes without importing a single toolbox. How can one tell which package to use for which task and if a better alternative package exists for the same task without extensive search in the documentation of each package. Of course, I know the difference between open source projects built by many volunteers and highly paid proprietary software products. Tools that are easy to use, fully functional, and helping the user get the job done with minimal programming knowledge, will win at the end.

• if a scientific computing language requires the user to write using LinearAlgebra, using Random, using FFTW, using SpecialFunctions, etc., what kind of scientific work can the language do by default?