Your Julia language journey

I have been learning Julia for a few months now and want to know how others have walked this path before. Please share how you started learning Julia, the difficulties you faced, and other interesting things you did while learning the language. Please also share what are the things that you use Julia for at the present time. I think this would be really helpful to me and other learners like me.
:julia:

5 Likes

First installed Julia at v0.3 and was deeply impressed, since I used Fortran before and desired a language exactly like Julia. At that point, I did not take it seriously yet, since it was early, but noted it for later. The video presentations on youtube drew me in. Around v0.4 it was time for me to actually start learning how to do stuff with Julia in a basic way. Julia community was the most fantastic place on the internet to me now, and the creator of Maxima.jl gave me advice on how to get started on a proposal I made: symbolic computation with Reduce.jl in the Julia language. This, along with creating the Fatou.jl package for fractals and the Dendriform.jl algebra package gave me my first taste of publishing open source code.

It’s okay if you don’t know how to realize your vision initially. I know when I first proposed the idea of using REDUCE algebra in Julia, I actually had no idea that I would end up being the person to do it, because I didn’t know how to get started. Yet, the initial help from @nsmith showed me how easy and simple it would be to actually realise the vision by myself.