Write a smoother for AlgebraicMultigrid

I’m playing around with https://github.com/JuliaLinearAlgebra/AlgebraicMultigrid.jl and would like to write my own smoother, or even just use the Jacobi smoother which is in the package, but not the default. Unfortunately, I am still very new to Julia and I still don’t understand how or why they’ve set up the smoothers the way they have. Here’s how they have defined the Jacobi smoother

abstract type Smoother end
struct Jacobi{T,TX} <: Smoother
    ω::T
    temp::TX
    iter::Int
end
Jacobi(ω, x::TX; iter=1) where {T, TX<:AbstractArray{T}} = Jacobi{T,TX}(ω, similar(x), iter)
Jacobi(x::TX, ω=0.5; iter=1) where {T, TX<:AbstractArray{T}} = Jacobi{T,TX}(ω, similar(x), iter)

function (jacobi::Jacobi)(A, x, b)
end

What is the advantage of defining a Smoother type instead of allowing any function?

When I tried to use Jacobi as the smoother

ruge_stuben(A,
        presmoother = Jacobi(1, Array{Float64,1}, 1),
        postsmoother = Jacobi(1, Array{Float64,1}, 1))

I get an error, MethodError: no method matching setindex!(::Type{Array{Float64,1}}, ::Float64, ::Int64, ::Int64).

Some assistance and background explaining why this is a good way to set up functions in Julia would be helpful!

The second argument is expected to be an Array but you’ve given a type instead. x should be a Vector{Float64}(length).

Thanks! So is this the normal way to set up a temporary array for internal use in a function in Julia? Is there a way to size an array like this dynamically the first time a function is called so you don’t need to fix the length ahead of time?

First, I made a mistake that uninitialized array is allocated like Array{Float64}(undef, ...sizes in each dimension...).