Workflow to develop standalone scripts that depend on both standard and custom Packages

Hi,

I have been using Julia on and off for the past four years, and one of the things that I am still struggling with is the lack of a consistent workflow to develop and run standalone scripts that depend on a common series of custom packages also in state of development as well as standard packages such as PyPlot.

In Python, the developer mode in pip allows you to modify your packages after install in an existing environment without forcing you to install dependencies all over again.
Is there a similar way of achieving that in Julia that I may have missed?

Everything that I’ve seen in terms of workflows seems to be geared toward the repl, which des not work for me in this particular instance. I am aware that I can pass a flag to Julia to activate a specific environment from the command line, but as far as I know that forces you to reinstall all your dependencies in that environment.

I appreciate any suggestions.

Hello, I am not sure what you miss/need.
In the folder of your custom package you can, if you wish, create a specific environment with ] activate . and then install standard packages (] add pkgName), latest version of installed packages (] add pkgName#master) or custom, not-registered packages (] add https://github.com/yourName/YourPackage.jl.git).
This wil create a Manifest.toml and Project.toml file in the same folder of your custom script that track the packages installed.
However these are not reinstalled everytime the script runs, but only the first time. They are actually stored in the .julia folder of the user.
Only if you ship the script (and the Manifest/Project.toml) files to soneone else, these dependencies will be “installed again”…

1 Like

import Pkg; Pkg.activate("."); Pkg.instantiate() won’t re-install everything every time. You can safely have this in your script without having to do a full download every time.

2 Likes