[WIP] SimpleLazyGraphs.jl - add vertices and edges as needed

Hello all, I’d like to introduce a small module I’ve been trying to implement called SimpleLazyGraphs.jl: GitHub - acxz/SimpleLazyGraphs.jl: Graph data structures to add vertices and edges as needed for Graphs.jl.

Effectively, this module is inspired by the following issue: a_star dynamic neighbor creation · Issue #115 · JuliaGraphs/Graphs.jl · GitHub

I’d love to gain feedback on the code that I have already written and suggestions on how to make it more Julian as this is my first time “subtyping” existing types and I’ve been learning quite a few things along the way.

I also have many questions that I’m hoping folks can help me out on.

First, I’ll describe what I’d like this package to be. Basically, I want to piggyback off of the type SimpleGraphs and use the entire functionality of it, besides two methods (inneighbors & outneighbors) I’d like “overridden” (forgive me for my OOP lingo) or should I say dispatched on my new type SimpleLazyGraph instead of the existing SimpleGraph.

As you can see in the code I’ve done that. However, as an added caveat, I’d like to also use the original functionality of SimpleGraph’s in/outneighbors method. As you can also see in the code, I had attempted to use @invoke, however, it did not work for me and I had to essentially copy and paste the implementation of SimpleGraph’s in/outneighbors methods as well as other methods that I needed to just test the functionality like add_vertex! and add_edge!. Ideally, my SimpleLazyGraph should be able to use the SimpleGraph’s version of these methods.