Why is reversediff slow?

I am trying to use automatic differentiation to obtain the gradient of a function with scalar-valued output.
Contrary to what I had expected, reverse differentiation is much slower than forward differentiation. Can anyone help me understand what is going on?
I just made small test example, with a test-function called ff.

using ReverseDiff
using LinearAlgebra
using ForwardDiff

# define some function for testing
function ff(x)
    res = 0.0
    for i in 1:100
        for j in eachindex(x)
            res += sin(exp(x[j])-norm(x))
        end
    end
    atan(res)
end

N = 50
y = rand(N)
res = similar(y)

@time ForwardDiff.gradient!(res, ff, y)

@time ftape = ReverseDiff.GradientTape(ff, y)
@time compiled_ftape = ReverseDiff.compile(ftape)
@time ReverseDiff.gradient!(res, compiled_ftape, y)

Especially when N is large, ReverseDiff seems to take very long.

I’m not experienced with ReverseDiff but I was interested in your question.

I tried to follow the advice given here

using ReverseDiff
using LinearAlgebra
using ForwardDiff
using BenchmarkTools

# define some function for testing
function ff_vec(x)
    res = 0.0 
        res += sum(sin.(exp.(x) .- norm(x)))
    end 
    atan(res)
end

function ff_vec2(x)
    res = 0.0
    n = norm(x)
        res += sum(sin.(exp.(x) .- n))
    end
    atan(res)
end

function ff(x)
    res = 0.0 
        for j in eachindex(x)
            res += sin(exp(x[j])-norm(x))
        end 
    end 
    atan(res)
end

N = 50
y = rand(N)
res = similar(y)

ftape_vec = ReverseDiff.GradientTape(ff_vec, y)
compiled_ftape_vec = ReverseDiff.compile(ftape_vec)

ftape = ReverseDiff.GradientTape(ff, y)
compiled_ftape = ReverseDiff.compile(ftape)

ftape_vec2 = ReverseDiff.GradientTape(ff_vec2, y)
compiled_ftape_vec2 = ReverseDiff.compile(ftape_vec2)

In Comparison to the other ones.
Reverse Diff:

julia> @btime ReverseDiff.gradient!($res, $compiled_ftape, $y);
  66.869 ms (0 allocations: 0 bytes)