Which async web server should I use?

Hello there!

I’m a Python programmer with 20+ years of programming background. I just recently read about Julia and read about 100 pages from the official documentation at once. I’m facinated by Julia’s type system, I really like multiple dispatch and many other things.

At my work, I need to implement a microservice that uses async events and websockets for sending and receiving messages to/from web clients (browsers). I have some experience with tornadoweb and websockets, and could do this in a few days in Python. But I decided that as a learning project, I would like to implement this in Julia. Even if it takes some weeks. I have read about the scheduler built into Julia, and also about channels and tasks. These are realtively low level tools. I wonder if there is a ready to use module in Julia that could be used to quickly create an async web server? Something like tornadoweb or twisted.

I don’t need TLS encryption, servers will be put behind nginx proxies. Also, authentication, management of topics and forum members etc. is already implemented. All I need is a simple service that can use websockets (both as a server and as a client), and send/receive messages asynchronously and efficiently, and check JWT HMAC signatures for validity. (Mongodb connectivity would be a big plus.)

I have come across Websockets.jl ( GitHub - JuliaWeb/WebSockets.jl: A WebSockets library for Julia ) but it may not be what I need. It seems to be an older version that has diverged from HTTP.jl a long time ago. Also examined HTTP.jl ( GitHub - JuliaWeb/HTTP.jl: HTTP for Julia ) which seems to be the official package for the HTTP protocol, but it is not a real framework. Just to mention one example, I don’t see how to route websockets to different handlers based on the HTTP path (sent by the browser before HTTP Connection Upgrade).