What materials should I read extending the compiler?

I have some knowledge of metaprogramming from my last package. Now, I need to descend into madness, to figure out how the compiler works and how I can access and modify the working of each stage in the pipeline.

Implementing a performant attribute system in a moddable game requires taking some optimizations not found in typical Julia compilation. For example, if there is a union of 5 types, the Julia compiler might resolve to ANY and let the runtime do the work. However, that’s not suitable for some use cases. I might need it to use 3 bits for type, 64 bits for data, and do some bit tricks to optimize away dynamic dispatches and such. I would need to play with the compiler. What resource should I read.

What you describe is not too much of the scope of typical Julia performance optimization. But using 3-bits for the type and 64-bits for the data is far from the proper solution for such problems, as the level you indicate deals much rather with good usage of caches and SIMD & Co type of optimizations. You could for example look at the packages and pointers here: Optimizing your code (modernjuliaworkflows.github.io)

I would suggest revisiting the @code_* commands and then try to identify precisely what kind of optimization you need. Looking at different outputs will also teach you how the compiler works.

If you are interested, you could try to learn from some HPC/Game programming courses information that might be focused on C/C++ but can help you to understand and write good Julia code as well. I doubt that at this point a modification of the compiler itself is necessary.

1 Like

I mean… Java performs virtual method table lookup, but that’s still far from an ideal way. I’m trying to optimize away virtual method lookup, dictionary lookup, etc… what do you mean by “not proper solution”?